ILGU Links



2012  Munster Senior Champion- Muskerry

2012 Munster Senior Champion- Muskerry

03 April 2012

Amy Farrell (Moate) won the Munster Women's Senior Championship while Lurgan's Zoe Allen won the Junior title at Muskerry GC, 3-6 April 2012.

After a truely impressive display of golf from two young golfers the Munster Senior Championship title goes to Amy Farrell from Moate. Jean O'Driscoll sank a magnificent putt on the 18th hole to take the match down the 19th where Amy snatched the championship. The quality of the golf was top class with 14 birdies between the two competitors.

Local girl Jean O'Driscoll (Muskerry) fought off the challenge of her Munster team mate Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) to win through to the Munster Senior Championship final.
She will now meet Amy Farrell (Moate) who is a talented Leinster player who overcame the challenge of Mary Doyle (The Heath) also an up and coming under 18 player.

Qualifiers Women
158 gross Aoife Lowry (Tipperary)
165 gross Amy Farrell (Moate)
155 nett Jennifer Hickey (8) (Doneraile)
160 nett Tara Gribben (3) (Warrenpoint)

Qualifiers Girls
166 gross Mary Doyle (The Heath)
168 gross Jean O'Driscoll (Muskerry)
157 nett Aoife Barry (9) (Muskerry)
159 nett Shannen Brown (5) (The Heath)

Amy Farrell bt Jean O'Driscoll at 19th

Semi Finals 
Sinead Sexton lost to Jean O'Driscoll
Mary Doyle lost to Amy Farrell

Quarter Finals
Aoife Lowry lost to Sinead Sexton 8&7
Jean O'Driscoll bt Tara Gribben 5$4
Mary Doyle bt Laura McCarthy 5&4
Karen O'Neill lost to Amy Farrell 5&3

Round 1
Aoife Lowry bt Ailish Thompson 5&4
Sinead Sexton bt Shannen Brown 3&1
Jean O'Driscoll bt Aoife Barry 2up
Hannah Henderson lost to Tara Gribben 4&2
Mary Doyle bt Lillian Harrington 2&1
Laura McCarthy bt Olivia Mehaffey 4&3
Karen O'Neill bt Jennifer Hickey 2&1
Carmel Kearney lost to Amy Farrell 4&3

Qualifying (CSS = 78RO, 78)
158 Aoife Lowry (Tipperary) 79 79
Amy Farrell (Moate) 81 84
Mary Doyle (The Heath) 84 82 Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) 82 84
Jean O'Driscoll (Muskerry) 86 82 Olivia Mehaffey (RCD Ladies) 81 87
Karen O'Neill (Douglas) 90 79 Shannen Brown (The Heath) 81 88
Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) 84 86
Jennifer Hickey (Doneraile) 87 84 Laura McCarthy (Muskerry) 84 87
Aoife Barry (Muskerry) 89 86 Hannah Henderson (Ballyclare) 88 87
Lillian Harrington (East Cork) 86 90 Carmel Kearney (Mallow) 85 91
Ailish Thompson (Cork) 93 85 Shauna O'Brien (Clonmel) 88 90
Shannon Heerey (Headfort) 92 89 Tara Whelan (East Clare) 88 93
Clare Keating (Killarney) 91 91
184 Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington) 97 87 Siobhan O'Herlihy (Muskerry) 89 95
185 Mary Lowney (Dunmore) 92 93
Gemma McCarthy (Clonmel) 99 87
Cliodhna McCarthy (Stackstown) 97 92
Fidelma O'Connor (Kanturk) 97 92
Elayne Hickey (Lahinch) 97 96 Sarah O'Brien (East Cork) 97 96
Maura Dwyer (Skibbereen) 98 99
Katie Hourihan (Glengarriff) 105 95
Olivia Lucas (Lahinch) 107 95
Lynda Maher (Charleville) 94 NR Carmel O'Sullivan (Muskerry) 96 NR


The winner of the 2012 Munster Junior Championship is Zoe Allen (Lurgan).

Young Lisa O'Shea from Shannon saw off a super challenge from Geraldine Williams (Ballybunion) to earn a place in the Junior Championship finals.
Lisa will come up against Zoe Allen from Lurgan who herself gave the defending champion from 2011 Nora O'Connor (Mallow) an excellent match to come out on top.

Qualifiers Women (Junior)
83 gross Zoe Allen (Lurgan)
86 gross Ann Kennelly (Mallow)
72 nett Shula McCarthy (18) (Clonmel)
73 nett Geraldine Williams (14) (Ballybunion)

Qualifiers Girls (Junior)
86 gross Katie Allen (Lurgan)
89 gross Lisa O'Shea (Shannon)
79 nett Paula Walsh (12) (Doneraile)
80 nett Michelle Tierney (11) (Waterford Castle)

Zoe Allen bt Lisa O'Shea

Zoe Allen bt Nora O'Connor 2&1
Geraldine Williams lost to Lisa O'Shea 1up

Quarter Finals 
Zoe Allen bt Joan Scanlan 2&1 
Nora O'Connor bt Patricia Kelly 1up
Georgina Keane lost to Geraldine Williams 2&1
Siobhan Maher lost to Lisa O'Shea 2up

Round 2
e Allen bt Mary Savage 2up
Joan Scanlan bt Patricia Joyce 3&2
Katie Allen lost to Nora O'Connor 5&3 
Michelle Tobin lost to Patricia Kelly 1up on 21st 
Aedin McCarthy lost to Georgina Keane 2up 
Siobhan Keane lost to Geraldine Williams 3&2 
Siobhan Maher bt Ann K Creamer 1up 
Lisa O'Shea bt Julie Barkman 3&2

Round 1 
Zoe Allen bt Michelle Tierney 6&4 
Mary Savage bt Mary Geaney 2&1 
Joan Scanlan bt Shula McCarthy 2&1 
Ber O'Shea lost to Patricia Joyce 1up
Katie Allen bt Fionnuala Mann 7 & 6 
Kay Loomey lost to Nora O'Connor 2&1 
Michelle Tobin bt Mary O'Donoghue 2&1 
Marie Collins lost to Patricia Kelly 5 & 4 
Marie O'Sullivan lost to Aedin McCarthy 2up 
Anne Marie Carroll lost to Georgina Keane 1up 
Maria Magee lost to Siobhan Keane 7&5
Brid Naughton lost to Geraldine Williams 5&4
Mary B Walsh lost to Siobhan Maher 1up
Marie Kelly lost to Ann K Creamer 3&2 
Nora Quaid lost to Lisa O'Shea 5&4 
Julie Barkman bt Ann Kennelly 1up 

Qualifying (CSS = 75)
83 Zoe Allen (Lurgan)
86 Ann Kennelly (Mallow) Marie O'Sullivan (Mallow) Patricia Kelly (Limerick) Katie Allen (Lurgan)
87 Geraldine Williams (Ballybunion) Mary B Walsh (East Cork) Patricia Joyce (Ballybunion)  Joan Scanlan (Newcastle West)
88 Ann K Creame (Tipperary) Maria Magee (Muskerry) Nora O'Connor (Mallow) Michelle Tobin (Cork) Georgina Keane (Ballybunion)
89 Nora Quaid (Ballybunion) Mary Geaney (Killarney) Mary Savage (Tralee) Lisa O'Shea (Shannon) Anne Marie Carroll (Ballybunion)
90 Mary O'Donoghue (Ballybunion) Kay Looney (Muskerry) Siobhan Keane (Tralee) Marie Kelly (Limerick) Shula McCarthy (Clonmel) Ber O'Shea (Macroom)
91 Siobhan Maher (Muskerry) Brid Naughton (Adare Manor) Fionnuala Mann (Tralee) Marie Collins (Harbour Point) Aedin McCarthy (Killeen) Julie Barkman (Nenagh) Michelle Tierney (Waterford Castle) Paula Walsh (Doneraile) Marie Mackey (Lisselan)
92 Sheila Forde (Shannon) Josephine Moran (Castletroy) Maryil McCarthy (Muskerry) Marie O'Brien (East Cork) Orla Kirby  (Adare Manor) Mary Cronin (Blarney) Eileen Healy (Macroom) Catherine Sheahan (Muskerry) Deirdre Butler (Fermoy) Niamh Twomey (Glengarriff)
93 Siobhan O'Mahony (Mitchelstown) Elaine Fitzgerald (Donabate) Madge Young (Shannon) Margaret Keyes (Adare Manor) Mary Byrne (Castletroy) Amanda Welch (Cork) Hilary Harte (Rafeen Creek) Katie Aherne (Waterford Castle) Barbara Foley (Lahinch) Bernie McGrath (Macroom)
94 Jessie Anthony (East Cork) Liz Grey (Tralee)
95 Esther McGuckian (Goldcoast) Ethna Leonard (Castletroy) Anne Jones (Shannon) Alice Murphy (Douglas) Brid Cronin (Fota Island)
96 Gena Nicholas (Adare Manor) Josette O'Donnell (Ballybunion) Eileen Kenny Ryan (Ballybunion) Sighle Henigan (Ballybunion) Agnes Duggan (Kanturk) Susan Coakley (Mallow) Ursula Desmond (Kanturk) Paula McNamara (Youghal) Elmarie Long (Lee Valley) Margaret Hope (Shannon) Margaret Walshe (Slievenamon) Noelle Golden (Waterville)
97 Anne Gallagher (Fermoy) Susan O'Shaughnessy (Harbour Point) Helen Barry (Douglas) Ciara Leonard (Mitchelstown)
98 Triona Gleeson (Thurles) Tara McCarthy (East Cork) Eileen Coleman (Doneraile) Caitriona Griffin (Killorglin) Mary O'Leary (Mallow) Yvonne Sadlier (Kanturk) Mary Fagan (Adare Manor)
99 Una Fitzpatrick (Kanturk) Sharon Ormonde (Youghal) Marcella O'Flynn (Mallow) Hilda Hegarty (Skibbereen & West Carbery)
100 Mary Kiely (Goldcoast) Mary Shanahan (Muskerry) Christine Carroll (Killarney) Eimear Cregan (Castletroy) Marie McMahon (Shannon)
101 Marie O'Sullivan (East Cork) Ann Lenihan (Cobh)
104 Toni Quilter (Ballybunion) Lorraine O'Sullivan (Muskerry)
106 Marion Kennedy Hogan (Newcastle West) Joan O'Callaghan (Charlesland) Margaret Hickey (Adare Manor)
113 Brigiette Behan (Thurles)
NR Orla McKevitt (Thurles) Theresa O'Brien (Slievenamon) Geraldine Walley (Cork)




Back to Latest News

GolfNetPrivate Home Care newMieleAIGCGIShopFacebookTwitterR&A Publications & Downloads