ILGU Links



Private Home Care Inter-Club Championships (Conn)

All the finalists from Connacht for the Private Home Care Inter-club Championship All Ireland Finals have been decided. These finals will take place in Monkstown Golf Club Cork from Wednesday 24th to Saturday 27th September. All matches were very closely contested with some excellent golf being played by all contestants in very changing weather conditions in Athlone Golf Club over the two days Friday and Saturday.

Roscommon were victorious in the Senior Foursomes and have represented Connacht at this level in 2011 also.

In the Junior Foursomes Gort were victorious and have represented Connacht at this level in 2007. 

In the Junior Cup there was huge excitement as Castlebar were thrilled to win and said that this is just their second ladies Connacht pennant in their 102 years in existence. (Their previous pennant was won in 1990).

Our Intermediate Cup representatives come from Co. Longford and memories here are scarce as to when they may last have reached a Connacht final not to mind going one step further to the All Ireland Finals.

Galway Golf Club are Minor Cup champions and have represented Connacht several times, at Senior Foursome in 2007 and 2008, Junior Cup 2006 and Intermediate Cup  last year.
Galway Bay Golf club who won the Challenge Cup are no strangers to the All Ireland Finals having featured at this level in 2007, at Minor Cup 2006 (Irish Champions) 2007 and Intermediate Cup in 2010 and 2011.

We thank all teams for participating in the Championship and hope that at least one of the finalist can bring an All Ireland pennant back to their club and District.  We wish them the very best of luck and good golf.

Galway ½  Roscommon 2½
Orla Barry(5)Breda Barry(16) lost to Sinead Benedetti (2) Mary Lalor(12) 2 up
Jane Whiriskey(9) Pat Lillis(13) halved with Mary Seymour(6) Paula Keane(11)
Jacqueline Joyce(12)Siobhan McLoughlin(12) lost to Ruth Lennon (6) Róisín Timothy(11) 7/6

Tuam ½  Gort 2½
Martina Casserly (15) Una Molloy (21) lost to Teresa Gill (15) Sara Broderick (21) 6/5
Jacqui McGrath (16) Siobhan Joyce (20) halved with Josie Collins (18) Josie Cummins (20)
Jacqui Cullen (16) Ann Higgins (23) lost Helen Shaughnessy (19) Maureen Brennan (19) 5/4

Castlebar 3½ Athenry 1½
Connie White(8) lost to Maria McNamara(9) 3/2
Lorna Irwin(8) beat Margaret Lavelle(10) 3/2
Sheila Baynes(9) beat Liz Neville(11) 3/1
Carmel Moran(12) beat Josephine Noone(11) on the 19th
Leah Kerr(12) halved Nicola Nally(15)

Claremorris 1½  Co. Longford 3½
Noreen McHugh(18) lost to Breedge Shanley(17) 2 up
Christina Rush(18) beat Mary Keegan(17) 8/7
Yvonne Oldam(20) lost to Mellory Tighe(17) 5/3
Ann Moran(22) lost to Tracy Farrell(19) 2/1
Louise Grant(24) halved Pat Mchugh(19) 

Galway 4  Swinford 1
Orla Purdy(22) beat Dymphna O'Donnell(24) 6/4
Mary Rose Purcell(22) halved Bernie Walsh(25)
Jennifer Cluskey(23) halved Mary Doyle(26)
Teresa Morgan(24) beat Esther Munnelly(28) 8/6
Laura Mannion(25) beat Carmel Timoney(30) 6/5

Ballinasloe 2  Galway Bay 3
Eileen Cannon(27) lost to Marie Kelly(28) 8/6
Eileen d’Arcy (28) won 3/1 Jacintha Quinn (28)
Teresa Hogan(30) won 4/3 Ann Murray(29)
Ann Jordan (31) lost to Noirin Gohery(30) 5/3
Nonie Burke (34) lost to Catriona O’Regan (32) 6/4

Associated Clubs


View Results
View Past Winners